Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
26 Sep 2020
No bulk downloads - PLEASE! THIS IS OVERLOADING OUR SERVER AND DENYING ACCESS TO COMMUNITY USERS
SVP - Pas de téléchargement en masse ! Cela surcharge le serveur et empêche la communauté d'utilisateurs d'accéder aux données
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Grib by email 4 years 11 months ago #451

• Andrew
  • Andrew's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello. I'm new to XyGrib. I'm interested in obtaining Grib files when internet connectivity is limited, e.g. on the high seas via satphone. Is this possible? Thank you.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Grib by email 4 years 11 months ago #452

Hi Andrew and welcome to the forum.

Low bandwidth and medium or high resolution grib files just don't go together.
With a satphone the best com rate is 2400 bits/sec which is very slow. This dictates file sizes of about 20 kbytes as the largest reasonable and it would take some 5 minutes to download. To meet the target file size one needs low resolution grib files 1 or 2 degrees and also with larger time steps - 12 or 24 hours instead of 3. One would also need to reduce the number of variables - perhaps wind only or wind and pressure at sea level.

It is possible to use Xygrib to select a minimal GFS grib (lowest res is 1deg) and download it using a satphone data connection, however, this is not the most efficient way to do the job.

POP3 email protocol (pulling an email from a mail server) is more efficient and tolerant to both low bandwidth and low latency (response times). There are mail servers that are optimised for satphone data connections and use compression to get more data down over the slow connections. Most of these mail server charge a fee but it is worth the money.